Many who saw the eclectic Crawford House thought it should be in a movie, perfect for a Gothic or horror classic. But nothing about it suggested the heebie-jeebies. It was truly a one of a kind, nestled in a part of Biloxi spotlighting its history. |
The core of the Crawford House was thought to date to the 1850s when its better-known beachfront neighbor, Tullis-Toledano Manor, was built. It was thought to be a carriage house made of red brick that matched the manor.
It received additions that purposely fit into the ancient oaks growing next to it. The end result was that the Crawford House looked nothing like its original self, but the unusual architecture kept it from being restored to carriage house status when the manor was restored by the city in the 1980s to use as a museum and a site for weddings and other gatherings.
Researchers say major additions came in 1907 when it was turned into a residence by the Crawford family, who also give their name to a nearby street. In 1939, when the Garner Tullis family bought the large manor estate, the Crawford House was referred to as "The Shingle House," a name derived from its unusual woodwork. Hurricane Katrina leveled the house.
- KAT BERGERON